The National League and National Cup Dates for 2018

Sunday 29th April – Liverpool

Saturday 12th May – Bristol

Sunday 27th May – Teesside

Sunday 10th June – Exeter

Saturday 30th June – Milton Keynes

Sunday 8th July – Nottingham

Sunday 29th July – Worcester

Saturday 1st September – London

22nd-23rd September – BDA National Championships, NWSC Nottingham.


The BDA National League is an annual series of dragon boat racing events organised by the BDA over the summer season at venues throughout the UK.  Each event has a regatta format, with qualifying rounds, minor and major finals to determine overall placings at the event. Races are typically held over distances from 200m to 2000m.


All BDA Registered Crews are eligible to compete in the BDA National League. There are six divisions in the leagues - Premier, Standard, Mixed, Ladies S12, Open S12 and Junior S12 (under 18 Division). The 2017 league races are being run as Open races, but for teams racing as Mixed a Shadow Mixed league also operates.


Points are won on placings at National League events to determine the position of the crews in the League at the end of the season.  


In addition to the races for Registered Crews, at most events there will also be opportunities for Scratch crews (who have not registered with BDA) and Charity crews (who raise money for charity through their dragon boat racing) to enter races in their own classes. There may also be events for Ladies (all female), Mixed (between eight and twelve females) and Junior (under 18). Contact the race organisers to find out details of the eligible classes at specific events.

The BDA National Cup is a two day event held at the end of the season. All the crews that have competed during the season are invited to take part. Races are typically over 200m, 500m, and 2000m distances. There are races for Open, Ladies, Mixed and Under 18 crews. A round of heats determines which crews qualify for the Cup competition, and which go into the Plate or Bowl competition for runners-up.