National League

The BDA National League is an annual series of dragon boat racing events organised by BDA registered clubs on behalf of the BDA over the summer season at venues throughout the UK.

Each event has a regatta format, with qualifying rounds, minor and major finals to determine overall placings at the event. Races are typically held over distances from 200m to 2000m though some longer distance events, upto 5km, are also contested.

All BDA Registered Clubs are eligible to compete in the BDA National League. The Clubs are arranged into two Divisions, Premier & Standard. There are then a series of league tables for different classes. The classes for 2020 are Open, Mixed, Womens & Juniors though we have a couple of different things to try during the season.

The National League event dates for 2020 are as follows:-

  1. Sun 26th April - Liverpool
  2. Sat 9th May - Exeter
  3. Sun 7th June - Worcester
  4. Sat 13th June - Milton Keynes
  5. Sun 28th June - London LRC
  6. Sun 26th July - Nottingham
  7. Sun 9th August - Wath upon Dearne
  8. Sun 6th September - London Surrey Quays
  9. 19th - 20th September – BDA National Championships, NWSC Nottingham

Of the 8 league events, your best 6 will count towards your various league positions.

Points are won on placings at National League events to determine the position of the crews in the League at the end of the season. The list of current Trophy winners are here.

In addition to the races for BDA Registered Crews, at most events there will also be an opportunities for Scratch crews (who have not registered with BDA) and Charity crews (who raise money for charity through their dragon boat racing) to enter races in their own classes. Contact the race organisers to find out details of the eligible classes at specific events.

National Championships

The BDA National Championships is a two day event held at the end of the season. All the crews that have competed during the season are invited to take part. Races are typically over 200m, 500m, and 2000m distances. There are races for Open, Womens, Mixed and Under 18 crews. A round of heats determines which crews qualify for the Cup competition, and which go into the Plate or Bowl competition for runners-up.

The list of current trophy holders is here.